2023 violin Competition


Candidates must send the following to the official website of the Fondation prior to July 6, 2023:

  • a CV
  • a color photo
  • a link to a video hosted on YouTube, Dailymotion or Viméo
  • registration fees: USD 80 or 80€ by bank transfer or cheque

Applicants must have been born between 1990 and 2007 (16 – 33 years old)

Pre-selection by video only before July 6, 2023:

  1. Ysaÿe             Sonata n°3 Op.27
  2. Bach               Fugue of the Sonata in G minor BWV 1001 or Fugue of the Sonata in A minor BWV 1003
  3. Paganini        Caprice n°1 in E major Op.1
  4. Saint-Saëns   Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso Op.28

20 candidates from the pre-selection will qualify to take part in the eliminatory round.

Eliminatory round

Wednesday November, 22 and Thursday November, 23  2023 – CRR (Conservatoire à rayonnement régional de Paris)

  • Ysaÿe            Sonata n°3
  • Bach             Fugue of the Sonata in A minor or Fugue of the Sonata in G minor
  • Paganini     Caprice n°1 in E major
  • A work of your choice for violin and piano (maximum 10 minutes)

Among these 20 candidates, 10 will qualify for the semi-finals


Friday November 24, maximum duration 45 minutes – CRR (Conservatoire à rayonnement régional de Paris)

  • A work of your choice : a  Sonata for violin and Piano (maximum 35 minutes)
  • Set work : Caprice n°24 in A minor of Paganini
  • An encore of your choice (maximum 5 minutes)

Among the 10 semi-finalists, 5 will qualify for the Finals with Orchestra

Rehearsals with orchestra

Saturday November, 25

  • 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. general rehearsal of 2 concertos
  • 3:15 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. general rehearsal of 3 concertos

Finals with the Orchestra of the Republican Guard

Sunday November, 26 – University of Paris II, Grand Amphithéâtre (2000 seats)

  • 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Each finalist will choose to play one out of 8 concerto options accompanied by The Orchestra of the Republican Guard :

  • Beethoven
  • Chostakovitch n°1
  • Sibelius
  • Brahms
  • Tchaïkovsky
  • Mozart : n°5 in A major K.219
  • Lalo : Symphonie Espagnole
  • Mendelssohn : n°2 in E minor

Official Announcement of the results

At 8:00 p.m.

Followed by the Long-Thibaud 1st Prize Winner’s concert and a “Best of” of the finalists

The winner of the competition will also be invited to play his Concerto at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées on Monday November 27, 2023 at 8 p.m.